Can’t Buy Me Love, and Yet, All You Need Is Love? Lucky Me

It’s Gratituesday! Today I am thankful for love. I know it sounds sappy, but give me a chance to explain.

I’m grateful for unconditional love from my parents, MSH, my kids, and my extended family. I know that no matter how big I goof up, how whiney I get, how unreliable and messy my life is, they are still going to provide me with with love, acceptance and understanding. Even if they don’t understand, they’ll jump that bridge and love me anyway. I’ve been rescued, resuscitated, healed, helped, snuggled, succored, cared for and cuddled by these people in ways only family can offer. What more could I ask for?

And yet there is more love in my life!

LOVE Sculpture, JFK Plaza

LOVE Sculpture by Robert Indiana, JFK Plaza (Photo credit: euthman)

Shared experiences with a few people have created a love that’s definitely not romance, stronger than friendship and distinct from familial love. I’m not sure there is a word for it. A spiritual connection? It’s an understanding or an emotion that requires no words and no actions. It just is. Does that make sense? Like any rare substance, these precious few relationships are priceless and guarded carefully. Surely there’s a word for this kind of love, but I’ve yet to hear or read it. I may have to invent it.

And More!!

I’m grateful for the quirky love of friendship. Each relationship I have is different, some are easy, some are not, but all involve love and persistence and concern. I have friends I can count on for a hug. Some friends I know will keep me humble with humor and sarcasm. And others see the good in me that no mirror I own ever allows me to see in myself. I can even lay open my heart to some with complete trust and no judgment. Those who trust me in the same way amaze me and instill a desire to try harder, be better and be worthy of that trust.

Wow!

I’m thankful that so many people have given me the opportunity to get to know and love them. Thinking about all the love in my life is like stumbling on a treasure trove, chests overflowing with diamonds and gems and silver and gold. I can’t imagine feeling any richer than I do now. Love surely makes my world keep spinning, floats my boat, keeps me grounded, fills my days, lights up my dark times, and creates joy.

Yes, I’m definitely grateful for love.

 

Categories: Gratitude, Gratituesday, Love | Tags: , , , , , , , | 6 Comments

Post navigation

6 thoughts on “Can’t Buy Me Love, and Yet, All You Need Is Love? Lucky Me

  1. And we sure do love you too! (((hugs)))

    Like

  2. I wanted to give you the word you were looking for:

    Shared experiences with a few people have created a love that’s definitely not romance, stronger than friendship and distinct from familial love. I’m not sure there is a word for it.

    That word is agape. Agape – selfless love of one person for another without sexual implications (especially love that is spiritual in nature)

    I loved this article and your passionate gratitude is overwhelming. I hope you are wrapped in this love for all the days of your life.

    Like

    • I typed in agape several times and then deleted it. Because this feels like more than that, but maybe I am overreaching. I’m sure I am.
      Thanks for your kind words. I do feel blessed.

      Like

      • I am not sure what definition you got that put you off so suddenly. Agape is a form of friendship love that transcends romance…it’s about deep, spiritual bonds. Here is the definition I found:

        Noun 1. agape – (Christian theology) the love of God or Christ for mankind
        Christian theology – the teachings of Christian churches
        love – a strong positive emotion of regard and affection; “his love for his work”; “children need a lot of love”
        2. agape – selfless love of one person for another without sexual implications (especially love that is spiritual in nature)
        agape love
        love – a strong positive emotion of regard and affection; “his love for his work”; “children need a lot of love”

        Like

      • Great definitions. Fits the situation I described. Not sure why I hesitated using the word.

        Like

So, what do you think? I'm curious, really!

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

