Simplify. Are you kidding me?

“Pick a random word and do Google image search on it. Check out the eleventh picture it brings up. Write about whatever that image brings to mind.”

Simplify? Who me?

My jaw hangs open. I am astounded.

Do you ever wonder how things happen that seem so serendipitous?  So random, and yet, so planned.  Like a happy accident.

That’s how I felt when I counted to eleven on my Google image search.

It’s my Destiny

Obviously I am destined to read this book. Whether is will help me solve my current dilemma or simply add to it, I don’t know yet.

Like any good reader/writer, there is a bit of chaos, semi-controlled, here and there about my home.  Sometimes the chaos is winning, sometimes I am.  Freshly dusted flat places become receptacles for a few papers, a magazine, a DVD, and a mountain begins to grow.  Okay, maybe only a small hill.  But piles erupt spontaneously as if to taunt me.  I try to stay on top of it, but work, family stuff, errands, writing, reading, eating, volunteer stuff, laundry, cooking, sleeping, all seem to get in the way of the housekeeping.

book pile

book pile (Photo credit: luiginter)

I usually have a few, (okay, many) books around the house in different stages of “readingness.”  Bookmarked, dog-eared,  left open cover up, left open cover down, an empty mug holding the page, another book holding the page open.  It gets a little silly. But, let’s be clear; books are not clutter.  No way!

Here’s a bit of irony for you.

One day one of those hill-like piles had a book on the topic of decluttering perched precariously at its peak.  It was Clutter’s Last Stand if I remember correctly. Although, it could have been half a dozen other books on the subject of dejunking, organizing, winning the lottery merely to hire a full-time maid, simplifying, streamlining, or decluttering. I own a few books on those topics.

My husband thought that particular dusty book, resting on a pile of  stuff and clutter was the funniest thing he’d ever seen.

I was not amused.

The clutter and the chaos drives me crazy!

I attempt solutions:

  • Trying to tackle it all myself with what little energy I have left after work and on weekends. Not so much a solution, more a self-inflicted bad mood.
  • Enlisting the help of family members met with more success when the children were much younger, didn’t hold down jobs or go to school or date.
  • MSH is a bit perfectionistic and takes a really long time, but he builds a pretty nifty set of shelves.
  • I buy books on the subject of decluttering.  I read books on the subject of clutter and how to manage it, reduce it, or live with it.
  • I actually declutter a little.
  • I dream about implementing all the amazing ideas in the books.
  • We move to a bigger house.
  • We move to a smaller house.
  • I secretly hope for a small disaster that wipes the slate clean.

I feel the weight of the nonsense surrounding me.  The already full sink of dishes when I’d just spent half an hour washing them up taunts me. The overflowing laundry basket snickers at me.  The opened box of Halloween decorations I have yet to put up cackles. The unswept floor sends shivers up my spine. The bathrooms rival any haunted house. The garage is the stuff of nightmares.

Unfettered Revelry

Seriously, there aren’t that many people living here.  We’re gone half the time working, and asleep  the other half. The stuff all out-of-place makes me wonder if it all gets up and wanders around at night or while I’m gone to work and flings itself about in wild, unfettered revelry.

No wonder I conjured the word “simplify” when I sat down at the computer.

I Sigh.

I consider staying up all night to make a dent in the piles.

MSH made the bed the bed this morning, and it looks inviting, calls to me, sings comforting, happy songs to lull me over to it. The pillow joins in with harmony. The alarm stares in a hypnotizing blink.

It’s much, much too late to attempt tackling any of the chaos and nonsense.

For now, I think I’ll take the Scarlett O’hara approach,  “I can’t think about that right now. If I do, I’ll go crazy. I’ll think about that tomorrow!”

Categories: Humor | Tags: , , , , | 8 Comments

Post navigation

8 thoughts on “Simplify. Are you kidding me?

  1. Smile….sounds like the making of a good book – the clutter dancing in the night.

    Like

    • Taking a half day off work today to deal with some of the chaos. Hadn’t thought of a book, but I like that idea, now that you mention it. Thanks!

      Like

  2. Leanne

    hahahahhaahahaha I still say go with Sista Budge’s approach: “Just get rid of your stuff! Don’t own stuff!” It worked for me!!!!

    Like

    • You have the advantage of a non-stuffaholic hubby. I have a seriously addicted to stuff hubby. Working on it. It’s November. You know that means it’s our annual clean out the garage sometime this month festival. Arrrrrghh!!

      Like

  3. Kathy

    Oh how I can relate. I can keep only one room tidy. And my bed is my most favorite inviting place particularly in winter, despite the chaos that fills the rest of the room. I’ve always wondered if I could manage it all if I lived alone?

    Like

    • i always thought if I were on my own, everything would be pristine and orderly. But in reality, I’m a bit of a slob and a packrat and a piler. My dishes would stay clean.

      Like

  4. Mama Jo

    I surely can relate. I try to declutter by piles in my bedroom on my dressers and most of it I just put back from the pile I was working on, still not knowing for sure where to file it. Sounds like you may have inherited your inability to declutter from me. Sorry about that. Maybe that is why I am still living at my age – to learn how to delutter and to quite thinking I have to save everything that comes into my home. Your blog made me laugh as I could see myself in your blog!!

    Like

So, what do you think? I'm curious, really!

Blog at WordPress.com.